Raag Yaman is a sampurna raag of kalyan thaat in Hindustani Classical Music.

Sampurna means that it has 7 notes(swaras) in it's ascending(Aaroha)and descending(Avroha).

Raag Yaman is usually sung in evening(pratham prahar). It's vaadi swar is Ga and samvadi swar is Ni. All the swaras in this raag are natural(shuddh) except Ma which is Teevra ie. one note sharp.

Yaman Raag is considered to be the most fundamental raag and it usually taught first to every student of classical music. This Raag is known for it's sweetness.

    Structure of Raag Yaman:

 Aaroha: Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Dha Ni Sa

 Avroha: Sa Ni Dha Pa Ma Ga Re Sa

 Pakad: Ni Re Ga Ma , Pa Ma Ga Re Sa


The underlined Ma indicates Teevra Ma. The most popular Bandish in this raag is Piya ki najariya jaadu bhari. This Bandish is sung on Teen Taal which has 16 beats. The bols of Teen Taal are: Dha Dhin Dhin Dha, Dha Dhin Dhin Dha

Dha Tin Tin Ta , Ta Dhin Dhin Dha.


Like it on Facebook, +1 on Google, Tweet it or share this article on other bookmarking websites.

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet