Hi friends. In this article lets see about the cricket in Australia i.e. how this game originated in Australia, its current position in world cricket and its all time legend.


In Australia Cricket began soon after the start of colonisation in 1788, and quickly became popular in the colonies. Within a century, first-class status was achieved, with Tasmania's three-wicket victory against Launceston Racecourse in February, 1851 becoming Australia's inaugural first-class match while Victoria were already established, and the other states would join in time. Cricket's popularity soared in the 1860s, through touring teams, WG Grace's arrival in 1873 further boosting interest. Standards increased to the extent where Australia was ready to face England in a Test, in the 1876-77 season. So began Australia's illustrious international history. Soon then  this game the national game of AUSTRALIA .

International competition

In recent years, Australia has been almost unstoppable. Mark Taylor's captaincy laid the groundwork for Steve Waugh and then Ricky Ponting to take Australia on a Test crusade which saw them vanquished in a series just once between July 2001 and September 2008. But they are finally looking fallible. In the one-day arena, Australia have won the World Cup four times out of its nine editions to date (First in 1987, then in 1999, then in 2003 and in 2007). This number is more than any other country and are the current holders of the ICC Champions Trophy.

At present they are the first team in ICC rankings. As stated earlier the three major captains who are responsible for taking Australian cricket are Mark Taylor, Steve Waugh and then Ricky Ponting. And the current captain of the Australian team is Ricky Ponting. Under the captaincy of Steve Waugh, Australia won the world cup in 1999. Under the captaincy of Ricky Ponting, Australia won the world cup in 2003 and 2007 and thereby Australia became the first nation to win three consecutive world cup.


1987 australia world cup team


1999 australia world cup team


2003 australia cricket world cup team


2007 australia cricket world cup team

Domestic cricket

The Australian set-up is straightforward. The six states - New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia - play against each other for three trophies, in four-day, one-day and 20-over cricket. The Sheffield Shield, the first-class competition, is the main prize. The one-day trophy, currently the Pura Cup, is played in a league format, while the most recent introduction was the Twenty20 competition, known as the Big Bash. Overseas players are rare in state cricket, while the sides are fed mainly through their state's grade competitions. District and country cricket is also available.

All-time great
Don Bradman, or simply The Don, needs no introduction, neither do the figures 99.94 nor the words "He's out". Both New South Wales and South Australia claim him as their own. He played the early part of his career in Bowral before relocating to Kensington. He wasn't just a great for the Australian game - Wisden pronounced him "beyond any argument, the greatest batsman who ever lived and the greatest cricketer of the 20th Century". Bradman was also accomplished in squash, golf, tennis or billiards, but he loved cricket above all, later becoming a selector and administrator of the game. He was knighted in 1949. His highest score in test cricket is 334 not out.


Women's cricket
Australia has always had a deep pool of talent to call upon, and it hosted the first women's Test, when England toured in 1934-35. Traditionally a strong side - Australia has won the World Cup a record five times, and held the Ashes for 42 years, until 2005. Cricket Australia now runs the game and, under its banner, the women have had increased financial assistance. Even now they are the runners in the world championship tournament.


Like it on Facebook, +1 on Google, Tweet it or share this article on other bookmarking websites.

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet